**Review** Rachel Van Dyken – Ember

Posted March 1, 2015 by abbeyneilclark in Uncategorized / 0 Comments

  • Rachel Van Dyken – Ember
  • Book 5 in the Eagle Elite Series (Can be read as standalone)
  • Rating – 5 Stars *****


Everybody Loves A Bit of Darkness..Until It Consumes Them…
I am a Killer. A Rapist. A Monster.
I know only pain and survival.
That is until the Cappo’s sister walked into my life.
And changed everything.
She’s a light who makes my darkness darker, her smile makes my heart turn to ice, and I can’t escape the fear her seductive looks instill–knowing it’s only a matter of time before I fail–again, and take her for myself.
This is the story of my redemption.
But it’s not pretty…I died, and now I’m alive, but not living, breathing but not surviving. I am Phoenix De Lange, son to a murdered mob boss, estranged brother, horrible friend, monster in the making, newest leader to one of the most powerful families in the Cosa Nostra.
And I will have my vengeance.
Or die trying.
I am Phoenix De Lange.
Death is all I know.

Until she offers me a piece of life–I can’t resist taking


                                              REVIEW – 5 STARS

This is not the first Of Rachel’s books that I have read and it most certainly  won’t be the last. I have throughly enjoyed the whole Eagle Elite series and have been anticipating Pheonix’s book since the get go.

Ok, so if your not familiar with the series then I’m just going to address the pink elephant in the room surrounding this story. Pheonix has a past, a very troublesome Past which is a sore spot for some of the MC characters in the prior books.  You see, Pheonix is or (in better words) was a rapist.  He was mentally abused by his father in to doing what ever he wanted and it affected the friendship with his closest friends after he performed a terrible act to a love interest to another character.

He has now returned after a long period of time and is deeply remorseful but thinks he doesn’t deserve to be forgiven for his past sins.


“Not near as much as I hate myself.” I smiled mockingly. “Your hate does nothing to me, just like your care does nothing.


Bee, sweet sweet Bee Campisi, sister to the Cappo and the light at the end of Pheonix’s long dark tunnel. She comes to America from Sicily after escaping her father and has no idea about what has gone on between the Elite. All she knows is that she is very much in love with Pheonix DeLange. 

Her feelings are returned however Pheonix believes he is too damaged and jaded for someone so innocent and pure like Bee to be with so he keeps pushing her away and denying his feelings. 


Bee was innocent.

So. Damn. Innocent. 
Even touching her pissed me off because I could swear I saw the darkness leave my body and try to imprint onto hers.


After a number of twists and turns within the book, we finally see Pheonix break and its a heart wrenching moment.


“No!” I tried to drop the gun, but his hold was too strong. “Phoenix, stop!” “Bee…” Tears filled his eyes. “I thought I could… I thought I could, but I can’t… I just can’t. Please, please…”
Tears dripped down his face onto his full lips. “…please, I can’t live like this, with this in my head.”
He started to full on sob. “I’m broken, can’t you see? I’m broken, Bee, so fix me! Just fix me!”
His forehead touched mine as he pulled the gun harder against his stomach.


I swear I hit every single emotion with this book, I laughed, I cried aswell as sat on the edge of the chair tapping one leg on the floor whilst chewing my nails. I’m pretty sure I cursed a fair few times through the book aswell as sit there with my mouth hanging open in a ‘I so did not see that coming’ moment. 

I can not wait for the next instalment of this series. Well Done Rachel on another well deserved kick ass book.



                                             PURCHASE LINKS & SERIES ORDER

Enchant – Prequel 

Elite – Book 1

Enforce – Elite Companion Novel

Elect – Book 2

Entice – Book 3

Elicit – Book 4

Bang Bang – Novella

Ember – Book 5

Elude – Book 6 – Releasing June 2015

Empire – Book 7 – Releasing  November 2015

Leave a Reply